Regional and municipal elections in Belgium

Tomorrow, on the 14th October 2012 the regional and municipal elections are taking place in Belgium, which has compulsory voting for every citizen from 18 years of age. Legal sanctions still exist, but they haven’t been enforced by prosecutors since 2003 [1].

The territory of Belgium is divided into three Regions, two of which, Flanders and Wallonia, are in turn subdivided into provinces; the third Region, Brussels, is neither a province nor a part of a province. Belgium’s political institutions are complex; most political power is organised around the need to represent the main cultural communities: there are six different governments running the country: the Federal government, the combined Flanders and Dutch speaking government, the Walloon government, the French speaking government, the German speaking government and last but not least the capital Brussels government.